Nico Rosberg has won the 2017 Sports Breakthrough of the Year award at the annual Laureus awards ceremony in Monaco.

The 2016 World Champion commented on the award, saying that it was an honour and calling the ceremony “the Oscars of sports” in a vlog posted to his social media pages.

Rosberg is also a Laureus Ambassador. Other people (and teams) who won awards at the ceremony include Usain Bolt, Simone Biles, the Chicago Cubs, and Leicester City.